Another Reason to be Thankful

Posted: December 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags:

As this Thanksgiving holiday weekend comes to a close, I have one more thing to be thankful for, something totally unexpected. Last night, I had the great privilege of speaking to another member of the 111th Ordnance Company, the second survivor Ed and I have found in our search so far.

Arthur Brooks, who is 96, was a captain and the unit’s commander in 1945, the last year of the war, in Germany. He had been assigned to the 111th as a young lieutenant in late 1942, when they began their winter training at Camp Shiloh, Canada. He told me he remembered my dad, which meant so much to me.

I kept the poor man on the phone for quite a while last night. He answered all of my questions and told me much more. I have just revised some previous postings; in future postings I will share more of Captain Brooks’ stories. In the meantime, I am so grateful we can talk to him.

Comments
  1. Kay McAnally says:

    How very exciting for you, Andy, to find Capt. Brooks! All of us 111th followers look forward to hearing more about your father’s WWll experiences. Finding Capt. Brooks is, indeed, a reason to be thankful, for me too, as I’m looking forward to hearing more.

  2. harlind says:

    ANDREA:

    Thanks for your your update. Look forwrd to learning more.

    Best, Harding

  3. Terry L. Cross says:

    Ed and Andrea: This site is wonderful! Thank you so much for posting photos and allowing us to connect with others in the 111th Ordnance Co. My father, Ray Cross (from Michigan), was attached to the 111th when they went to Wales (he was in Iceland before that with a different unit). Dad is still alive and told me you contacted him and consequently I found this website and blog. I can’t wait to hear more and see what other photos may be coming! (Including some of dad’s own). Dad was a T-3, (basically a staff sergeant) mechanic in the 111th. Dad is 94 years old. Thanks again, Terry Cross

Leave a Reply

